• Although typefaces are many they are majorly classified into two main categories, such as serif and sans serif.

    • Serif

    The characters belonging to the serif typeface contain what the designers referred to as the feet-like structure. The serif typeface includes some of the known popular types such as the Times New Roman, Georgia etc. Serif typefaces are generally used in longer reading activities such as a novel as the distinctiveness between the letters make them easily readable.

    • Sans serif

    The characters that do not include the feet-like structure are grouped under the Sans Serif typeface, meaning no serif. The popular sans serif typefaces include Arial, Verdana etc. The sans serif typeface look so trendy and modern and therefore, people prefer to use for unofficial purposes, such as in blogs etc.

    The other popular classifications are as follows,

    • Blackletter

    It is also known as Gothic or Old English typeface and the letters are characterized by dramatic thin and thick strokes. Also, the serifs or the feet-like structure found in the characters contain elaborate swirls on them, making them appear highly ornamental. The blackletter typeface is one among the oldest typefaces in existence, dating to as old as 1500 A.D. The Gutenberg’s bible, which is one of the first books ever printed in Europe contains blackletter typefaces in them.

    • Script

    The script typeface is based on the flexible strokes made using the brush or a pen and therefore, resemble close to the ‘handwriting’ way.

    • Pixel

    The typeface is called Pixel because it is inspired by the on-screen display format of the pixels and is mainly designed for a specific point size. This typeface is also known as Bitmap fonts.